Teaching kids about the environment

One of the biggest reasons I’m so passionate about environmental issues is because when I was a child, my parents often took me to zoos and aquaria. They also made sure I had plenty of educational experiences related to ecology, such as nature walks, whale watches and backyard insect observation sessions. I wouldn’t describe my parents as environmentalists, but they noticed my interest in natural science and encouraged me to cultivate it however I could.

It is so important to do this for your children, whether they are in your family or your classroom. Enriching field trips and hands-on activities are key.

Check out this week’s podcast from the National Aquarium in Baltimore. The aquarium’s director of visitor programs talks about the importance of fulfilling children’s desire to learn by providing them with experiences like the ones I had when I was younger.

This weekly podcast, A Blue View, is hosted by the National Aquarium’s CEO, John Racanelli.

Photo: Courtesy of familymwr on Flickr.

Photo: Courtesy of familymwr on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

